[About FIATA]

Fédération Internationale des Associations de Transitaires et Assimilés

FIATA, in French “Fédération Internationale des Associations de Transitaires et Assimilés”, in English “International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations was founded in Vienna/Austria on May 31, 1926.

FIATA, a non-governmental organization, represents today an industry covering approximately 40,000 forwarding and logistics firms

FIATA has consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (inter alia ECE, ESCAP, ESCWA), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

It is recognized as representing the freight forwarding industry by many other governmental organizations, governmental authorities, private international organizations in the field of transport such as the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the International Air Transport Association (IATA), the International Union of Railways (UIC), the International Road Transport Union (IRU), the World Customs Organization (WCO), the World Trade Organization (WTO), etc.

FIATA Association members are divided into 4 regions worldwide. These are:

·         Africa/Middle East

·         Americas

·         Asia/Pacific

·         Europe

The primary target of the Regional Meetings is to bring forward the regional issues, and if necessary submit them to the Institutes and technical bodies of FIATA, the intention being to identify and assist regional members in solving their local industry problems. Another important objective is to gain synergies between the member countries of the region and to import and export these benefits to other associations.